Asia-Pacific Amateur Championship

The Asia-Pacific Amateur Championship was created in February 2009 as a joint initiative to grow the game by the Asia Pacific Golf Confederation, the Masters Tournament and The R&A.

The championship is staged annually at various locations throughout the Asia-Pacific region and was first played in 2009.

The winner of the increasingly prestigious tournament gains a place in the field for the US Masters at Augusta the following year, as well as direct entry into International Final Qualifying for the Open. From 2011, the winner also receives an invitation to the Asian Tour’s season-ending Thailand Golf Championship.

The Asia-Pacific Amateur Championships is considered a special event by the World Amateur Golf Rankings which means that any player who makes the cut in the tournament is eligible to be ranked. The only other events with this honour are the British Amateur, US Amateur and European Amateur Championships.

Past winners:

2012       Guan Tianlang (China)                 273 (-15) Amata Spring Country Club, Thailand

2011       Hideki Matsuyama (Japan)          270 (-18) Singapore Island Country Club, Singapore

2010       Hideki Matsuyama (Japan)          269 (-15) Kasumigaseki Country Club, Kawagoe, Japan

2009       Han Chang-won (South Korea)   276 (-12) Mission Hills Golf Club, Shenzhen, China

AAC Proud Partners